more from
Schema Records - Rearward

People Need People

by Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €9.99 EUR  or more


Nigeria 05:09


New music forms contaminated by various genres characterize our globalized world’s recent history; the intertwining of individual experiences creates new collaborations, as in this specifc case. Sixteen years after the release of “New Standards” (2001, SCEP336) Nicola Conte meets again his friend and colleague Gianluca Petrella, an eclectic Italian jazz scene talent, open to new experiences and collaborations: this encounter let to the publication of three new 12” EP’s in only three years, plus the recent single “The Higher Love” and the release of “Let Your Light Shine On” by Nicola Conte & Spiritual Galaxy.
The exchange between the two musicians / producers takes place not only on a songwriting level but also on a research one: vinyl rarities, the diggin’ activity, the use of samples, sounds, rigorously vintage instruments and sounds deliver a product brave enough to communicate the club culture enthusiasm to conquer a new market capable of soliciting new interests in the nu-soul and jazz scene. From Detroit future dance to afrobeat and spiritual jazz through a nu-disco sound, the unique vibe of “People Need People” drags us in search of deep music in a spiritual and mantric context. In a peculiar historical moment Nicola Conte and Gianluca Petrella send a message of hope, of aggregation and Universal Love. A feeling of elevation and solidarity is shared Through Raashan’s poetry, something that can predict winds of change for humanity, a feeling that flows from a higher love.
“People Need People” is more than just a new album, it’s a collective experience wisely directed by Nicola and Gianluca that sees the participation of numerous artists from different parts of the world: Raashan Ahmad (USA), Nduduzo Makhathini (South Africa), Magnus Lindgren (Sweden), Débo Ray (USA), Bridgette Amofah (England), Abdissa Assefa (Finland/Ethiopia), Teppo Makynen (Finland), together with young Italian promising stars Davide Shorty, Carolina Bubbico, Tommaso Cappellato, Seby Burgio, Marco Rubegni, Pasquale Calò, and the already known Pasquale Mirra and Simone Padovani. “People Need People” is the mature fruit of an unstoppable and constantly evolving work of research and exchange that’s been able to break down every possible distance during its long and complex making-of process. The songs taken from the previous EP’s have also been further revised, reworked and expanded, with the addition of six new tracks. Looking at the past and fetching sounds, rhythms and instruments typical of
tribal / African traditions, soul / spiritual jazz and cosmic music from it, Nicola and Gianluca have performed an operation of strong contamination with modern electronic sounds, disco and hip-hop, creating a completely original hybrid. Their goal is to accompany the listener through a collective spiritual elevation path, guided by the only true universal language: music. In a historical period marked by contrasts, lack of communication and forced social distancing, “People Need People” proves to be even more essential and necessary.


released February 26, 2021

Produced by Nicola Conte and Gianluca Petrella
A1 written by N. Conte, G. Petrella and D. Sciortino
A2 written by N. Conte, G. Petrella and P. Mirra
B2, C1 and D2 written by N. Conte, G. Petrella and R. Ahmad
B1 written by N. Conte, G. Petrella and B. Amofah
A3, B3, C2, D1 and D3 written by N. Conte and G. Petrella
Davide Shorty: Vocals on A1
Carolina Bubbico: Vocals on A1, B2
Pasquale Mirra: Vibraphone on A1
Tommaso Cappellato: Drums on A1, A3, D3
Abdissa Assefa: Congas & Percussion on A1, B3, C2
Débo Ray: Vocals on A2, D3
Pasquale Mirra: Vibraphone & Percussion on A2
Seby Burgio: Wurlitzer Electric Piano, Tiger Electric Organ, Synth on A3
Pasquale Calò: Tenor Sax on A3, B3
Bridgette Amofah: Vocals on B1, D1
Raashan Ahmad: Vocals on B2, C1, D2
Magnus Lindgren: Flute on B2, D3
Nduduzo Makhathini: Fender Rhodes Electric Piano on B3, D2
Simone Padovani: Congas & Percussion on C1, D2, D3
Teppo Makynen: Drums on C2, D2
Marco Rubegni: Trumpet on D2
Recorded in
Bari at Sorriso Studio | Sound Engineer: Tommy Cavalieri
Milan at Blue Spirit Recording Studio | Sound engineer: Francesco Borrelli
Lecce at Sud Est Studio | Sound engineer: Filippo Bubbico
Mastered by Giovanni Versari at La Maestà
Magnus Lindgren appears courtesy of ACT Music
Nduduzo Makhathini appears courtesy of Blue Note Records
Artwork by Mzwandile Buthelezi
Photography by Giovanna Sodano
Layout by Eugenio Crippa
Publishing by Edizioni Ishtar Srl
except A1 publishing by Edizioni Ishtar Srl / Totally Imported Srl


all rights reserved



Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella Bari, Italy

contact / help

Contact Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nicola Conte & Gianluca Petrella, you may also like: